Machine Head

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Machine Head

After drooling over Motorhead in the other thread, this manic metalhead can't help but briefly throw up another one of my old metal favourites...from Oakland, California----Machine Head

Sometimes strangely and stupidly called the 'poor man's Pantera' by some people, Machine Head is a band that I've actually had a love-hate relationship with. They are what is referred to as 'groove-thrash metal' ('post-thrash' by certain moronic writers in the music press), and a band that I remember instantly really liking back in '92, when they first started out and I was a relative newbie to full-on Metal music of all kinds.

Machine Head's debut, Burn My Eyes ('94), and the sequel, The More Things Change (/97), are landmark metal records in that particular 'groove-thrash' style, and remain the two MH releases that I still regard very fondly, after all these years. That's the sweet part of the story. However, MH soon badly let me down with two shockingly sad, dud discs The Burning Red and Supercharger, where they departed from their earlier intense, vicious metallic sound and style to the more stripped down, accessible approach, and also absolutely abhorrent dabbling with rap and other weird experimentation that lost me as a fan. Yet, they made a rebound and made amends with me, with a pummelling back-to-form disc, the very thrashy, Through the Ashes of Empires, in 2004. I was very glad and felt assured that MH had stood back up again after the prior two mis-steps. But no, they came back in 2007 with a largely awful (yet overhyped prior to release, and over-rated, ever since) new studio album, The Blackening. It was a suck-fest, to my ears. They let me down again. Less than a week ago, I landed an old EP (2000) of theirs, Take My Scars, which I'm finding a lot of fun. And there's a live album, Hellalive, which I haven't got and never heard.