Released March 14, 2006
Officially titled “Greatest Hits: 1970-1978”


CD [ Amazon US | Amazon UK ]

Track Listing

  1. Black Sabbath
  2. N.I.B.
  3. The Wizard
  4. War Pigs
  5. Paranoid
  6. Iron Man
  7. Sweet Leaf
  8. Children of the Grave
  9. Changes
  10. Snowblind
  11. Supernaut
  12. Sabbath Bloody Sabbath
  13. Hole in the Sky
  14. Rock ‘N’ Roll Doctor
  15. Never Say Die
  16. Dirty Women

Writing Credits

  • All songs by Iommi, Butler, Osbourne, Ward


  • Ozzy Osbourne – Vocals
  • Tony Iommi – Guitar, Keyboards on #9
  • Geezer Butler – Bass
  • Bill Ward – Drums
  • Remastered by Dan Hersch & Bill Inglot
  • Compilation Produced by Black Sabbath
  • Executive Producer – Sharon Osbourne

Catalogue Numbers

  • CD Rhino R2-73365 (US 2006)
  • CD Warner Bros WTVD-73365 (CAN 2006)


  • The remastering work for this disc is the same work done for the 2002 “Symptom of the Universe” package, and the 2004 “Black Box” set.
  • This was released in US/North America only.   This is because it was from the original Warner Brothers contract, and that covers only US & North America.  Everywhere else is the old Vertigo (now Universal/Sanctuary) deal.
  • The version of “Iron Man” on this compilation is not the original studio album length song.  It has been edited to be shorter.  This was done due to space considerations on the disc.
  • This was released to capitalize on the publicity of Black Sabbath going into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame around this time.
  • NOTE: The “2006” in the page title is my own nomenclature.  That is not part of the official name, I did that to differentiate this release from the 2009 “Greatest Hits” release.


  1. John Sposato says

    There was a single edit of “Iron Man” which I have on US 45 so thats what it could be. This is good for casual fans and completists alike (someone I know bought a similar CD who isn’t as big a fan as we are).

  2. Karsten kozak Sørensen says

    Evil Woman should be on the best of Black sabbath Album , dissapointed its no on this album

  3. What the hell is Rock ‘n’ Roll Doctor doing on this CD? I mean, I like the song but I wouldn’t consider it a greatest hit. That’s odd.

  4. Vince Tasciotti says

    I like the inclusion of the 45 RPM edit of “Iron Man”. No need to search out the vinyl single. If you buy this disc and you have that, and more, on a worthwhile one disc compilation.

Speak Your Mind


For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.