Released June 4, 2012
(UK/Europe ONLY)

Official Title is: “Iron Man: The Best of Black Sabbath”.


CD [ Amazon UK ] | MP3 [ Amazon UK ]
CD [ Amazon US – Import ]

Track Listing

  1. Paranoid
  2. Iron Man
  3. Changes
  4. Fairies Wear Boots
  5. War Pigs
  6. Never Say Die
  7. Children of the Grave
  8. The Wizard
  9. Snowblind
  10. Sweet Leaf
  11. Evil Woman (Don’t Play Your Games With Me)
  12. Sabbath Bloody Sabbath
  13. Black Sabbath
  14. N.I.B.

Writing Credits

  • All songs by Iommi / Butler / Osbourne / Ward, except
  • #12 by “Black Sabbath”
  • #11 by Wiegand / Wiegand / Wagner


  • Ozzy Osbourne – Vocals, Harmonica
  • Tony Iommi – Guitar, Keyboards
  • Geezer Butler – Bass
  • Bill Ward – Drums
  • Project Coordination – Steve Hammonds
  • Project Marketing – Johnny Hudson
  • Artwork & Design – Hugh Gilmour

Catalogue Numbers

  • CD Universal 3706150 (UK 2012)


  • This release was handled by Universal Records in UK/Europe.  As such, it was not released in the US/North America due to Warner Bros/Rhino having release rights for Black Sabbath there.
  • This covers only the Ozzy era from the 70’s.  However, the Sabotage & Technical Ecstasy albums are not represented in the track listing, despite both of them being in the under disc tray art.
  • The remastering work was culled from the sessions that produced the remaster work for the Universal Deluxe Edition series from 2009.
  • NOTE: The “2012” in the page URL is my own nomenclature.  That is not part of the official name, I did that to differentiate this release from the 2006 & 2009 “Greatest Hits” releases.
  • This release replaced the 2009 Greatest Hits album in the Universal catalogue.  When this was released, the previous 2009 edition was discontinued.



  • Below are the front and back images of the cover art, as well as what the physical CD itself looks like (it has the Paranoid era motif to it).

Press Release

  • Below is the original press release from Universal for this compilation.

Album: “Iron Man: The Best of Black Sabbath”
Release Date: 4th June 2012

Download Festival Headline – 10th June 2012

Ozzy Osbourne, Tony Iommi, Geezer Butler, Bill Ward,– four names that resonate throughout Rock’s recorded history as clear and sublime as the bell that tolls the opening to the bands eponymous debut album from 1970.

Collectively, they formed Black Sabbath and forged the most haunting and hypnotic rock sound of all time. From humble beginnings, the Birmingham quartet enslaved the minds and souls of millions of rock fans around the world and continue to do so into the new millennium. The musical genre they created inspired countless musicians and spawned countless bands. Such has been their influence; they have been inducted to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2006 and were included among Rolling Stone’s list of the 100 Greatest Artists of All Time.

“Iron Man: The Best of Black Sabbath” is a 14 track collection of classic tracks from across the bands first eight albums – including tracks from 1970’s debut “Black Sabbath” and follow up “Paranoid”, 1971’s “Master Of Reality”, 1972’s “Volume 4”, 1973’s “Sabbath Bloody Sabbath” and 1978’s “Never Say Die”. The album brings some of the best loved and most influential rock songs of all time together on one album – including such classics as “Paranoid”, “Iron Man”, “Black Sabbath”, “Sabbath Bloody Sabbath”, “War Pigs” and “Changes”. The release is a must have for any self respecting music fan…

Full Tracklisting (including original albums):

1 – Paranoid (Paranoid)
2 – Iron Man (Paranoid)
3 – Changes (Volume 4)
4 – Fairies Wear Boots (Paranoid)
5 – War Pigs (Paranoid)
6 – Never Say Die (Never Say Die)
7 – Children Of the Grave (Master Of Reality)
8 – The Wizard (Black Sabbath)
9 – Snowblind (Volume 4)
10 – Sweet Leaf (Master Of Reality)
11 – Evil Woman (Don’t Play Your Games) (Black Sabbath)
12 – Sabbath Bloody Sabbath (Sabbath Bloody Sabbath)
13 – Black Sabbath (Black Sabbath)
14 – N.I.B. (Black Sabbath)

Ozzy Osbourne, Tony Iommi and Geezer Butler recently announced they are reuniting as Black Sabbath and recording a new album. They are scheduled to perform a headlining slot at the Download Festival on Sunday 10th JuneFor more information and tickets please see  The band are also playing a warm up show at the Birmingham 02 Academy on 19th May (Sold Out).

“Iron Man: The Best of Black Sabbath” is released through Sanctuary on the 4th June 2012




  1. Oh great, another Ozzy only compilation. That’s just what everyone needs…lol

  2. Janet Brookes says

    Hi Can you get this on vinyl too or just cd.


  3. After the 11-11-11 announcement, I was skeptical. Bill had dropped out and I was hearing that it was gonna get cancelled. But this greatest hits came out and the new album got pushed back. I’m sick of all these greatest hits albums. Just have one greatest hits!!!! Not 15 of ’em!!!!

  4. aden riansyah says says

    The great moment of egend king of metal respect
    mr.Ozzy osbourne .mr tony lommi & mr. geezer butler

  5. aden riansyah says says

    The great moment of legend king of metal respect
    mr.Ozzy osbourne .mr tony lommi & mr. geezer butler

Speak Your Mind


For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.