Released May 15, 1990


CD [ Amazon US | Amazon UK ]
MP3 [ Amazon US ] | iTunes (US)

Track Listing

  1. Wild One
  2. Born on the Sun
  3. Hey Angel
  4. Between Two Hearts
  5. Night Music
  6. Lock Up the Wolves
  7. Evil on Queen Street
  8. Walk on Water
  9. Twisted
  10. Why are they Watching Me (CD Only)
  11. My Eyes

Writing Credits

  • All lyrics & melodies by Ronnie James Dio


  • Ronnie James Dio – Vocals
  • Rowan Robertson – Guitars
  • Teddy Cook – Bass
  • Simon Wright – Drums
  • Jens Johannsen – Keyboards
  • Executive Producer – Ronnie James Dio
  • Produced by Tony Platt & Ronnie James Dio
  • Engineered by Tony Platt
  • Mixed by Nigel Green & Tony Platt
  • Recorded at the Granny’s House, Reno NV USA
  • Originally Mastered by George Marino at Sterling Sound

Catalogue Numbers

  • CD Reprise/Warner 9-26212-2 (US 1990)
  • LP Vertigo 846-033-1 (EUR 1990)
  • CD Vertigo 846-033-2 (EUR 1990)
  • CD Reprise W2-26212 (CAN 1990)
  • CASS Popron 50018-4 (CZE 1990)
  • CD CD-Maximum CDM-0799-291 (RUS 1999)


  • This version of Dio was a complete change from the last. Rumour has it Ronnie was trying to “capture the feel” of the first album.
  • Although they don’t appear on this album, longtime Dio members Vinny Appice & Jimmy Bain have writing credits on a couple of tracks, despite the overall album being listed to all Ronnie in terms of songwriting.
  • There were two additional tracks recorded for this album, but unused.  To date, they’ve not been released or re-used.  The titles are “Hell Wouldn’t Take Her” & “River Between Us”.



  • Below is a picture of the front of the cassette version of the album.

  • A couple of pictures of the old “long boxes” for the CD’s in the early 90’s.  Remember those?  Tkx Mike Hanna for the pics.



  1. Capital Alternative says

    Nice album some of songs is just amazing super like.

  2. Jay Demetrick says

    There were two official videos made for songs from this album: Wild One and Hey Angel

  3. Where in the world is the Deluxe Edition of Lock Up The Wolves!?!!?. Everybody knows by now that they have released a Deluxe Edition of Magica! Somebody is sleeping at the controls! The studio album of it came out before Magica! There needs to be Deluxe Editions of Strange highways, Angry machines and Man in the moon too!

Speak Your Mind


For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.