Released May 14, 2002
Tour Edition Released October 22, 2002


Original CD [ Amazon US | Amazon UK ]
Tour Edition CD [ Amazon US ]

Track Listing

  1.  Killing the Dragon
  2. Along Comes a Spider
  3. Scream
  4. Better in the Dark
  5. Rock & Roll
  6. Push
  7. Guilty
  8. Throw Away the Children
  9. Before the Fall
  10. Cold Feet
  11. Fever Dreams Live – w/ Deep Purple (Tour Edition only)
  12. Rainbow in the Dark Live – w/ Deep Purple (Tour Edition only)

Writing Credits

  • Tracks 1,4,7,9,10 – Dio/Bain
  • Tracks 2,3 – Dio/Aldridge/Bain
  • Tracks 5,6 – Dio/Bain/Goldy
  • Track 8 – Dio/Goldy


  • Ronnie James Dio – Vocals
  • Doug Aldrich – Guitars
  • Jimmy Bain – Bass, Keyboards
  • Simon Wright – Drums
  • Scott Warren – Keyboards on “Before the Fall”
  • King Harbour Children’s Choir – Background vocals on “Throw Away Children”
  • Produced by Ronnie James Dio
  • Engineered by Wyn Davis
  • Recorded & Mixed at Total Access – Redondo Beach, CA
  • Mastered by Eddy Schreyer

Catalogue Numbers

  • CD Spitfire SPT-15199-2 (US 2002)
  • CD Spitfire SPITCD199 (UK 2002)
  • CD Spitfire SPT-15211-2 (US 2002 – Tour Edition)
  • CD Daydream DD0237 (GER 2008)
  • LP Night of the Vinyl Dead NIGHT054 (EUR 2009)
  • LP Niji NEG005 (US 2011 – Picture Disc)



  • The Tour Edition contains the two live tracks mentioned above, plus the music video for “Push”, as well as a PC screensaver.  These last two items are only available as the “CD Extra” part of the disc, and require a PC to access.
  • The track “Push” was originally legally available as a free full download from the Spitfire website.  That was removed somewhere along the line, though.
  • The Special Edition is a single CD disc, the additional audio tracks are just tacked on the end.
  • The track “Throw Away Children” was originally supposed to be a charity song like “Stars” was with different vocalists, and whatnot.  The intended beneficiary of the charity piece was called “Children of the Night“.  They exist to protect runaway children from prostitution.  Ronnie & Wendy supported this charity for a long time, but very much under the radar.  Anyway, the charity song thing didn’t happen, and the song ended up on this album instead. Here’s an explanation:

It was also important for Dio to express his somber emotions in “Throw Away Children.” The vocalist originally composed the song for The Children of the Night, a charity that Dio is closely associated with, whose mission is to rescue children from the ravages of street prostitution. Although he originally intended the song to be recorded in the same fashion as “Stars” [heavy metal’s answer to “We Are The World”], with various vocalists sharing the verses and guitarists sharing solos, “the powers that be deemed the song too depressing.”

“The song has to portray the truth and the truth is that children are out there being pimped, getting addicted to drugs, and dying of AIDS,” says Dio. “It is a heartfelt song that I had to include on the album.” The song includes an appearance by the King’s Harbor Church Children’s Choir. “When they began singing, the hair stood up on the back of my neck and our drummer, Simon Wright, had a tear in his eye,” admits Dio.


Speak Your Mind


For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

I agree to these terms.

Pin It on Pinterest