Released August 30, 2004 (UK/Europe)
Released August 31, 2004 (US/North America)


CD [ Amazon US | Amazon UK ]
MP3 [ Amazon US | Amazon UK ] | iTunes (US)

Track Listing

  1. One More for the Road
  2. Master of the Moon
  3. The End of the World
  4. Shivers
  5. The Man Who Would Be King
  6. The Eyes
  7. Living the Lie
  8. I Am
  9. Death by Love
  10. In Dreams
  11. The Prisoner of Paradise (Japanese CD only)

Writing Credits

  • Lyrics & Melodies by Ronnie James Dio


  • Ronnie James Dio – Vocals
  • Craig Goldie – Guitars
  • Jeff Pilson – Bass
  • Simon Wright – Drums
  • Scott Warren – Keyboards
  • Produced by Ronnie James Dio
  • Engineered by Wyn Davis
  • Recorded & Mixed at Total Access, Redondo Beach, CA
  • Mastered by Eddy Schreyer
  • Illustrations by Marc Sasso

Catalogue Numbers

  • CD Sanctuary 06076-8473-2R (US 2004)
  • CD Steamhammer SPV 8569912 (EUR 2004)
  • LP Steamhammer SPV 69911 (GER 2004)
  • CD Victor VICP-62982 (JPN 2005)



  • Recording started in January of 2004, although writing had been going on for some time before that.
  • Was originally going to be Part 2 of 3 of a trilogy of Magica albums.  Why that was dropped for this release is unknown.
  • The studio album has Jeff Pilson on bass, but he had other commitments, and was replaced for the live dates by Rudy Sarzo.
  • Some versions of the cover art have a red Dio logo.  That version was used for pre-release promotional items, the final version has the more common “Blue” Dio logo.  The red one, however, was also used as the Japanese CD cover art.
  • The red & blue Dio logo covers are exactly the same, save for the difference in the color of the Dio logo.


  1. Sue Renshaw says

    Hello, Could you tell me where I could a CD of Master of the Moon please?
    I’m in Australia!

  2. Master of the Moon… Masterpiece of music. In my opinion, this CD is better than Dio’s most commercially successful releases.

Speak Your Mind


For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

I agree to these terms.

Pin It on Pinterest