Released June 15, 2009
Discontinued May 2012
(UK/Europe ONLY)


CD [ Amazon UK ] | MP3 [ Amazon UK ]

Track Listing

  1. Paranoid
  2. Iron Man
  3. Changes
  4. Fairies Wear Boots
  5. War Pigs
  6. Never Say Die
  7. Children of the Grave
  8. The Wizard
  9. Snowblind
  10. Sweet Leaf
  11. Evil Woman (Don’t Play Your Games With Me)
  12. Sabbath Bloody Sabbath
  13. Black Sabbath
  14. N.I.B.

Writing Credits

  • All songs by Iommi / Butler / Osbourne / Ward, except
  • #12 by “Black Sabbath”
  • #11 by Wiegand / Wiegand / Wagner


  • Ozzy Osbourne – Vocals, Harmonica
  • Tony Iommi – Guitar, Keyboards
  • Geezer Butler – Bass
  • Bill Ward – Drums
  • Project Coordination – Steve Hammonds & Chris Douch
  • Artwork & Design – Hugh Gilmour
  • Sleeve Notes – Jerry Ewing

Catalogue Numbers

  • CD Universal 2705880 (UK 2009)


  • This release was handled by Universal Records in UK/Europe.  As such, it was not released in the US/North America due to Warner Bros/Rhino having release rights for Black Sabbath there.
  • This covers only the Ozzy era from the 70’s.  However, the Sabotage & Technical Ecstasy albums are not represented in the track listing, despite TE’s cover art appearing in the booklet’s liner notes, and both of them being in the under disc tray art.
  • The remastering work was culled from the sessions that produced the remaster work for the Universal Deluxe Edition series from 2009.
  • This was a “contractual obligation” release from Universal.
  • NOTE: The “2009” in the page title is my own nomenclature.  That is not part of the official name, I did that to differentiate this release from the 2006 “Greatest Hits” release.
  • This release was discontinued in May 2009 when it was replaced in the catalogue with a 2012 reissue under a different title, that being “Iron Man: The Best of Black Sabbath”.

Press Release

  • Below is the original press release from Universal for this compilation.

Album; “Greatest Hits”
Release date: 15th June 2009

Tony Iommi, Geezer Butler, Bill Ward, Ozzy Osbourne – four names that resonate throughout Rock’s recorded history as clear and sublime as the bell that tolls the opening to the bands eponymous debut album from 1970.

Collectively, they formed Black Sabbath and forged the most haunting and hypnotic rock sound of all time. From humble beginnings, the Birmingham quartet enslaved the minds and souls of millions of rock fans around the world and continue to do so into the new millennium. The musical genre they created inspired countless musicians and spawned countless bands.

Black Sabbath’s “Greatest Hits…” is a 14 track collection of classic tracks from across the bands first eight albums – including tracks from 1970’s debut “Black Sabbath” and follow up “Paranoid”, 1971’s “Master Of Reality”, 1972’s “Volume 4”, 1973’s “Sabbath Bloody Sabbath” and 1978’s “Never Say Die”. The album brings some of the best loved and most influential rock songs of all time together on one album – including such classics as “Paranoid”, “Iron Man”, “Black Sabbath”, “Sabbath Bloody Sabbath”, “War Pigs” and “Changes”. “Greatest Hits…” is a must have for any self respecting music fan…

Full Tracklistings (including original albums)

1 – Paranoid (Paranoid)
2 – Iron Man (Paranoid)
3 – Changes (Volume 4)
4 – Fairies Wear Boots (Paranoid)
5 – War Pigs (Paranoid)
6 – Never Say Die (Never Say Die)
7 – Children Of the Grave (Master Of Reality)
8 – The Wizard (Black Sabbath)
9 – Snowblind (Volume 4)
10 – Sweet Leaf (Master Of Reality)
11 – Evil Woman (Don’t Play Your Games) (Black Sabbath)
12 – Sabbath Bloody Sabbath (Sabbath Bloody Sabbath)
13 – Black Sabbath (Black Sabbath)
14 – N.I.B. (Black Sabbath)

Black Sabbath’s “Greatest Hits” is released through UMTV on the 15th June 2009.


  • Below is the image for the back cover of the CD.


  1. The tracklist should be in chronological order.

  2. Another throwaway release. Joy.

Speak Your Mind


For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.