Released June 10?, 1986
Re-Released Mar 12, 2012 (as Disc 2 of Sacred Heart DE)


 CD [ Amazon US | Amazon UK ]
MP3 [ Amazon UK ]

Track Listing

  1. King of Rock & Roll
  2. Rainbow in the Dark
  3. Sacred Heart
  4. Time to Burn (Studio Track)
  5. Rock ‘n’ Roll Children
  6. Long Live Rock & Roll
  7. Man on the Silver Mountain
  8. We Rock


  • Track 4 by Dio/Goldy, rest vary widely
  • Ronnie James Dio – Vocals
  • Vivian Campbell – Guitars
  • Craig Goldy – Guitars (Track 4 only)
  • Jimmy Bain – Bass
  • Vinny Appice – Drums
  • Claude Schnell – Keyboards
  • Produced by Ronnie James Dio

Catalogue Numbers

  • EP Warner Bros 9-25443-1 (US 1986)
  • EP Vertigo VERB-40 (UK 1986)
  • CD Vertigo 830-078-2 (UK 1986)
  • EP Vertigo 20PP-100 (JPN 1986)
  • LP Vertigo 830-078-1Q (GER 1986)


  • This is a live EP released in 1986.
  • The live songs were recorded with Vivian Campbell on the Sacred Heart Tour.
  • Craig Goldie replaced Vivian, and the band wanted something with Craig out, so they recorded “Time to Burn” with him, and it was put on here.
  • Dio (the band) went out on tour in support of this EP, and used the same stage set as on the Sacred Heart tour, although some refer to it as just “more of the Sacred Heart Tour”.
  • The contents of this album were re-released on March 12, 2012 as Disc 2 of the Sacred Heart Deluxe Edition release.



  • Below are two images of the Intermission cover on cassette tape, as well as a vinyl release; both from 1986.


  1. This is a fun little EP. On the live version of Rock ‘n’ Roll Children, you can really hear how similar Shot in the Dark is. Was there ever any type of legal issue with the similarities?

Speak Your Mind


For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.