Released Summer 1980
Re-Released March 1996
Re-Released August 20, 1996 (Past Lives)
Re-Released September 27, 2010


2010 CD [ Amazon US | Amazon UK ]
1996 CD [ Amazon US | Amazon UK ] | Past Lives [ Amazon US | Amazon UK ]
MP3 [ Amazon UK ]

 Track Listing

  1. Tomorrow’s Dream
  2. Sweet Leaf
  3. Killing Yourself to Live
  4. Cornucopia
  5. War Pigs
  6. Laguna Sunrise
  7. Paranoid
  8. Wicked World

Track Listing – 1980 Australian Release

  1. Tomorrow’s Dream
  2. Sweet Leaf
  3. Killing Yourself to Live
  4. Cornucopia
  5. Snowblind
  6. Children of the Grave
  7. War Pigs (Side 2)
  8. Wicked World (Side 2)
  9. Paranoid (Side 2)

Writing Credits

  • All tracks by Black Sabbath


  • Ozzy Osbourne – Vocals
  • Tony Iommi – Guitar
  • Geezer Butler – Bass
  • Bill Ward – Drums
  • Recorded at the Free Trade Hall in Manchester on Mar 11, 1973 &
  • Recorded at the Rainbow Theatre in London, Mar 16, 1973
  • 1973 Project Producer – Patrick Meehan
  • 1996 Remaster by Ray Staff @ Whitfield St Studios
  • 1996 Design, booklet notes, and sleeves by Hugh Gilmour
  • 2010 Remaster by Andy Pearce & Matt Wortham
  • 2010 Project Coordinator: Steve Hammonds
  • 2010 Product Management by Jon Richards
  • 2010 Sleeve Notes by Alex Milas
  • 2010 Design by Hugh Gilmour
  • 2012 Digital Remaster by Andy Pearce & Matt Wortham
  • 2012 Vinyl Mastering by Greg Moore @ Masterpiece

Catalogue Numbers

  • LP NEMS BS-001 (IRE 1980)
  • LP Earmark 41037 (UK 1980)
  • LP Ariola Benelux 203-049 (NETH 1980)
  • LP NEMS MLF-412 (AUS 1980)
  • CASS NEMS MCF-412 (AUS 1980)
  • LP NEMS 27-901-9 (GER 1980)
  • LP NEMS SP25-5009 (JPN 1980)
  • LP Beograd LPS-1019 (YUG 1980)
  • LP Spiegelei INT-145.614 (GER 1980)
  • LP SNC C90-31123-002 (RUS 1980)
  • LP Ariston ARLP-12386 (IT 1981)
  • LP NEMS BS-001 (GER 1985)
  • CD Creative Sounds 6001 (US 1987)
  • CD Castle NEMS-6001 (UK 1987)
  • CD Power Sound NEMS-6001-2 (US 1996)
  • CD Essential ESMCD331 (UK 1996 – Remaster)
  • LP Earmark 41037 (IT 1996)
  • CD Sanctuary SMRCD071 (EUR 2004)
  • CD Universal 2749910 (UK 2010)
  • LP Universal 3715304 (UK 2012) – “Vinyl Collection”


  • This album was originally released without the band’s permission, hence it not being labelled as “official” – All involved at the time discounted the record, claiming it was crap.
  • The original release of this album had Ozzy’s name spelled “Ossie”.  This error was (intentionally) reproduced in the 2010 release.
  • The release of this album directly led to Sabbath releasing an official Live Album about 2 years later, that being “Live Evil”.
  • This appears to have been culled from tapes from the Volume 4 Tour.
  • This album was later re-released as part of the “Past Lives” double live CD in 2002, and was its first ever official recognition by the band.  It was also finally released officially by Black Sabbath on it’s own in 2010.
  • The 2010 “Deluxe Edition” of Past Lives and the single disc 2010 release are the same contents.



  • This is the original back cover image.  However, the physical image you are looking at is a scan from the 2010 booklet, I do not have a physical original copy to scan from (hence the inclusion of the 2010 Universal catalogue number on the image).

  • This is the back CD cover image from the 2010 re-release of the album.


  1. Matt Gordon says

    Hey so I Don’t know if it’s a typo or whatever but is there really a version with laguna sunrise on it?

  2. Gerry the Blak says

    I noticed you list a 1996 re-release named “Past Lives”. I thought “Past Lives” was first released in 2002 as a 2-disc set.

  3. I hate this album, I think it’s one of the worst live albums of all time.

  4. this album got me through the blackest days of my life. my friends sucked, girls sucked, my parents sucked, I had dropped out of school, didn’t have a job, didn’t have anything, and people sucked. I dealt with it through massive anounts of alcohol.

    at that time, in the 80’s, nobody listened to old music. I had already discarded 80’s music as sucking ass and listened to nothing but 70’s rock. now that I was drowning myself in alcohol I listened to this tape over and over. like I said, it got me through the blackest days of my life. looking back I think I had invented “grunge” 10 years before such tastes became the sucky mainstream phenomenon for posers that it did. I wasn’t posing for anybody; I was a drunk, nobody gave a shit about me, I didn’t give a shit about them, and I wanted to hear Tony Iommi wailing on some jazz, and share my miseries with Ozzy.

    I had read a review that said Ozzy was “sneering” at the audience. I already listened to it a million times but checked again and I suppose it does sound like that. the tape I had said “Made in Ireland”. from 1980. it didn’t have Laguna Sunrise on it. never heard of a version that did.

  5. Steve Armourae says

    Warpigs, Ozzy appears to forget a whole verse as he repeats the previous verse.
    The sound isn’t perfect, but Tony’s guitar between the first verse and chorus on Sweet Leaf is about the heaviest thing you will ever hear. Sound of a supernova exploding

  6. Matt "Rat Sald" Fisher says

    Funny, nobody has mentioned the Alt lyrics to Killing yourself to live from this album. I have tried endlessly to figure them out, but Ozzy did not sing it clear enough. Also, the one that I have has the ever-so-sought-for cover tune “sometimes I’m happy” prior to Supernaut which is on MY VERSION of the CD. I don’t see that track listed here either?!

    • Matt "Rat Sald" Fisher says

      OK, after going into my library, the extended “Wicked World” has “sometimes I’m Happy” and then goes into Supernaut…and THEN ends with Wicked World’s final set. To be clear. Along with various SOLOS

  7. what is the font type used on the cover?

  8. Corey Solt says

    NEMS used some of these tracks on cassette versions of Sabotage, Vol. 4 (Renamed “Children Of The Grave) and I think Sabbath Bloody Sabbath, but not sure about the last one. The other two though for sure.

Speak Your Mind