Ozzy’s long awaited new studio album, "Down to Earth" is going to be released on October 16th. It’ll be his first album of new material from Ozzy since 1995’s Ozzmosis. I’ve created a page for it in my discography. Check it out. Here’s some promo text from the record label about this promotion:

Die-hard fans of rock icon OZZY OSBOURNE don’t have to wait until October 16 to buy his new CD DOWN TO EARTH. Instead they can log on to www.getozzynow.com beginning Monday, September 24 to purchase the CD and receive their copy up to three weeks before it hits stores.

As OZZY enters his fourth decade as one of the major rock musicians of our time, he releases his first solo album in six years, DOWN TO EARTH, in stores on October 16th. Produced by Tim Palmer DOWN TO EARTH features Zakk Wylde on guitar, Robert Trujillo on bass, and Mike Bordin on drums. The album is bursting with OZZY’s signature brand of hard-hitting rock laced with driving melodies and crunching guitars. There’s no rest for the wicked as the listener is faced with 11 powerful tracks leading off with the first single, "Gets Me Through", a song Ozzy wrote as an open letter to his fans. "Dreamer", "Junkie" and "Running Out of Time" are just a few of the standout tracks on DOWN TO EARTH. A limited edition ‘CD Extra’ with a video montage featuring rare footage of Ozzy with Randy Rhoads (‘Mr. Crowley’, ‘Crazy Train’), among other retrospective highlights from Ozzy’s legendary career, is also included on this special offer.

The video for the first single "Gets me Through" on Sunday the 30th on The video will air during WWF Heat which runs from 7-8pm EDT/PDT. Check it out. I also got word from Sharon’s office that the official tracklisting is:

  • gets me through
  • facing hell
  • dreamer
  • no easy way out
  • that i never had
  • you know…
  • junkie
  • running out of time
  • black illusion
  • alive
  • can you hear them
  • b-side: no place for angels

In other Ozzy video news, he’s recorded some new footage to amend the VH1 "Behind the Music" special that’s been playing for a time now. There’s a new 90 minute version that includes the old show, and the new footage. That will air in October.

Finally, I should be giving away some free copies of Down to Earth the week that the album is released. More details when that gets closer.

Yeah, it’s good to be back. I should be updating more regularly again.