A Handful of Memories

From 2004 onwards, when Black Sabbath did live shows, Adam Wakeman was their keyboardist (and rhythm guitarist).  While he wasn’t on any studio albums by Black Sabbath, there’s plenty of other projects he played keys on, not the least of which was his own stuff. That’s why I’m here today – to tell you about his latest, an album called “A Handful of Memories”.

The First Single

The first single from the album is out and is called “The Winter Palace”.  It is available below as a Youtube link, and is also available at all the usual streaming sites.  It is definitely a more quiet piece, which bears out the personal feeling I suspect Adam wanted to drive this project.  Check it out:

A Handful of Memories

On November 12th Adam Wakeman will release his first modern classical piano album since 1996’s ‘Tapestries’ which he recorded with Rick Wakeman. ‘A Handful Of Memories’ is the result of an appreciation upon reflection of Adam’s past experiences, trips with his family, his touring families and friends in some places that hold special memories for him.

To reflect the personal, minimalist nature of the tracks, no effort was made to remove any of the pedal noises or enhance the tracks in any way, as Adam wanted them as exposed and natural as they can be.

The album will be released through Blacklake Records on November 12th on CD, LP and on all digital platforms. Pre-orders include 2 exclusive digital bonus tracks.

The pandemic had a hand in Adam’s return to modern classical piano after 25 years. As a highly sought-after touring pianist, Adam played extensively with Black Sabbath, Ozzy Osbourne, Travis and many others, he records and performs with his progressive rock band Headspace, with his acoustic duo Wilson & Wakeman and last year he even ventured into the jazz world with his critically acclaimed documentary/album project Jazz Sabbath.

When the pandemic started, and the music world paused, he was halfway through a South American tour with Martin Barre on his 50th Anniversary Tour of Jethro Tull. Forced to hurry home before the airports closed, a period of reflection had started and this album is a result of that.

Adam will play songs from the album live at the upcoming Wilson & Wakeman shows in the UK, Netherlands and Germany. See www.WilsonWakeman.com for details.

Track Listing

  1. Draa Valley
  2. Pristina
  3. Sunrise Over L.A.
  4. The Winter Palace
  5. Iceland
  6. A Walk in the Park
  7. Treyarnon Bay
  8. Gateway to the Sun
  9. The Island
  10. Home

I have listened to the entire album already, and I will say that the single is VERY indicative of what the rest of the album sounds like.  If you liked the single, you will love the rest of the album for sure.

Buy These Tunes

You can purchase a copy of the album from Adam’s Bandcamp page at AdamWakeman.bandcamp.com.

You can catch more of Adam at his website, his Twitter account, and his Instagram page.

Speak Your Mind


For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.